The week that was #2

After my first attempt to compile a weekly collection of links to interesting articles I’ve read, I thought I’d make a fresh start for the new year.

Thankfully I’ve now discovered the handy Read It Later tool, which not only allows me to keep track of what I’ve been reading (and how time is frittered away), but spares my computer the energy of having a zillion tabs open in Chrome all at once.

Another nifty tool I found was ChromoDoro, after a friend educated me in the Pomodoro Technique. I think this is seriously going to help me!

Here’s a selection of articles for your perusal:

…and journal articles:

  • Farley, J. 2008. The Role of Prices in Conserving Critical Natural Capital. Conservation Biology 22:1399-1408.  DOI: 10.1111/j.1523-1739.2008.01090.x
    One that had been stuffed into my ‘to read’ folder and forgotten. I’m glad I rediscovered it, as it covers a lot of issues to do with valuation of biodiversity and ecosystem services. Farley argues that marginal valuation is inappropriate and potentially disastrous when ecosystems draw close to critical thresholds.
  • Spash, C. L. 2011. Social Ecological Economics: Understanding the Past to See the Future. American Journal of Economics and Sociology 70:340-375. DOI: 10.1111/j.1536-7150.2011.00777.x
    Interesting historical look at the emergence of ecological economics as a (trans)discipline, with some fantastic quotes and rather cutting critiques of everyone from conservation biologists to (all?) economists. A bit ranty, but worth a read.
  • Verissimo, D., D. C. MacMillan, and R. J. Smith. 2011. Toward a systematic approach for identifying conservation flagships. Conservation Letters 4:1-8.   DOI: 10.1111/j.1755-263X.2010.00151.x
    Diogo outlines a framework for selecting flagship species (beyond tigers and pandas) as marketing tools for conservation – for raising awareness and much needed funds.

I’ve also started reading John Quiggin’s Zombie Economics (John is currently blogging additional content that will form part of the paperback version).

Leave a Reply

